The E4S Center is a joint initiative of UNIL-HEC, IMD and EPFL. Our governance consists of a Supervisory Board, a Management Board, and a Steering Committee.

Supervisory Board

Prof. Frédéric Herman

Rector, UNIL

“This is a unique opportunity to take our know-how in sustainability and our long-standing experience, through HEC, in business research and education, and combine them with the core competencies of two major universities – one specialized in technology and the other in management and large corporations.”

Prof. Jean-François Manzoni

President, IMD

“We all have the same vision – to innovate constantly and to create research and educational opportunities that meet society’s needs. Through this joint initiative, we can draw on the best each school has to offer through cross-disciplinary projects and programs that, even if we could have offered them individually, will be more effective given together.”

Prof. Martin Vetterli

President, EPFL

“Our society has reached a tipping point. By pooling the right kinds of expertise, we can harness science and technology to take our society in the right direction. That is precisely what E4S has been set up to do.”

Management Board

Photo of Michael Aklin, E4S Co-Managing Director

Prof. Michaël Aklin

Managing Director, EPFL

Prof. Florian Hoos

Managing Director, IMD

Prof. Jean-Philippe Bonardi

Managing Director, HEC-UNIL

Prof. Jean-Pierre Danthine

Honorary Managing Director, EPFL

Steering Comittee

Prof. Marianne Schmid Mast

Dean, UNIL-HEC Lausanne

Prof. Rüdiger Fahlenbrach

Director, College of Management of Technology, EPFL

Prof. David Bach

Dean of Innovation and Programs, IMD

Advisory Board

Hubert Keller

Managing partner, Lombard Odier DH

Brigitte Rorive Feytmans

President, Fondation Leenaards

Pascal Kiener

CEO, Banque Cantonale Vaudoise

André Hoffmann

Vice-Chairman, Roche

Prof. Christian Gollier

Director, Toulouse School of Economics

Prof. Colin Mayer

Emeritus Professor, Oxford University, Saïd Business School

Prof. Pascaline Dupas

Professor of Economics, Stanford University

Prof. Gail Whiteman

Professor of Sustainability, University of Exeter Business School (UK)