Publications

août 17, 2021 | Documents

Décarboner le portefeuille de la Banque Nationale Suisse

L’intégration des questions environnementales et la pratique de l’investissement durable et responsable sont des sujets largement débattus par les professionnels de l’investissement, les universitaires et les décideurs politiques. Les résultats des enquêtes confirment que de plus en plus d’investisseurs institutionnels s’engagent à intégrer les principes de la finance durable dans leur processus d’investissement. Les banques […]

juin 3, 2021 | Documents

Introduction d’une taxe sur les billets d’avion en Suisse : effets estimés sur la demande

Air travel is now recognized as the most important driver of anthropogenic climate change of all Swiss economic sectors, ahead of ground transport. Furthermore, It is widely expected that Swiss air travel will return to pre-COVID levels and continue its rise thereafter. We estimate that the planned air ticket tax in the revised CO2 Act would reduce future Swiss air travel demand in the future, by incentivising substitution behaviour away from air travel.

mars 16, 2021 | Documents

L’automatisation et l’avenir du travail :
Politiques pour une croissance inclusive

Le débat public porte de plus en plus la crainte que l’automatisation ne rende bientôt le travail humain obsolète. Ce rapport vise à délimiter l’état des connaissances quant à l’impact des machines sur l’avenir du travail et à orienter la réflexion sur la façon de préparer les sociétés à l’arrivée des machines intelligentes.

mars 16, 2021 | Documents

Sauver le monde depuis son canapé:
Les avantages des confinements COVID-19 sur la pollution atmosphérique

Des chercheurs E4S et co-auteurs estiment l’impact à moyen terme d’une série de mesures de confinement liées au COVID-19 sur la qualité de l’air dans 162 pays. Ils constatent que les mesures de confinement nationales et internationales ont, dans l’ensemble, entraîné une baisse substantielle et persistante de la pollution atmosphérique.

mars 11, 2021 | Documents

Voir c’est croire:
Vers une visualisation interprétable des données

Lorsque nous voyons quelque chose, nous pouvons facilement détecter des modèles, nous pouvons repérer des anomalies, nous pouvons vérifier des similitudes. C’est pourquoi, lorsqu’on traite des données, il est particulièrement important d’atteindre la partie visualisation le plus tôt possible. Cela peut accélérer considérablement l’identification des problèmes de données, mais aussi aider à mieux communiquer et illustrer les résultats de la recherche.

mars 2, 2021 | Documents

La crise du coronavirus exacerbe les inégalités en Suisse

Une étude récente publiée par le KOF, et co-financée par E4S et l’Office Fédéral de la Santé Publique montre que les inégalités ont augmenté avec la crise du Covid-19.

janvier 28, 2021 | Documents

L’enseignement à distance augmente l’inégalité des étudiant(e)s

Une étude qui vient d’être publiée dans le Journal of the European Economic Association analyse l’impact de l’enseignement en ligne de cours dans une université publique suisse avant que la pandémie COVID-19 ne frappe. Les résultats montrent que les étudiant(e)s préfèrent être en classe lorsque cela est possible et que suivre des cours en ligne […]

décembre 21, 2020 | Documents

The elea Way – Un voyage d’apprentissage vers un impact durable

Vanina Farber, professeur à l’IMD et membre d’E4S, et le Dr Peter Wuffli, fondateur de la fondation elea, offrent des conseils pratiques dans leur nouveau livre surla façon dont le capitalisme inclusif peut s’attaquer à la pauvreté absolue. Le « impact investment »  est devenu une pratique courante. Le désir de lier les investissements à des objectifs […]

décembre 12, 2020 | Documents

Le Produit Intérieur Vert :Un PIB net du coût des émissions de gaz à effet de serre

Le produit intérieur brut (PIB) est critiqué à juste titre parce qu’il ne constitue pas une mesure précise de la valeur économique créée pendant une unité de temps, puisqu’il ne tient pas compte des dommages environnementaux causés par l’activité économique. Dans ce document, nous proposons une mesure ajustée du produit intérieur qui soustrait la valeur […]

décembre 9, 2020 | Documents

En savoir plus sur la consommation en Suisse: Monitoring Consumption in Switzerland

Avec deux courtes vidéos explications, Prof. Rafael Lalive présente l’outil “Monitoring Consumption in Switzerland”

novembre 30, 2020 | Documents

Deuxième vague: Les indépendants suisses face au confinement du Covid-19

Comment la situation de l’entreprise et la santé financière et mentale des travailleurs indépendants a-t-elle évolué depuis le mois d’avril ? Une enquête menée par l’institut KOF et l’Université de Lausanne auprès d’indépendants et propriétaires d’entreprises en Suisse analyse les effets de la 2ème vague du Covid-19. Ce rapport fait suite à une première étude menée […]

novembre 17, 2020 | Documents

Nous devons passer d’un système économique en panne à un monde plus inclusif et écologiquement durable, déclarent les dirigeants d’E4S.

Nous devons passer d’un système économique en panne à un monde plus inclusif et écologiquement durable, déclarent les dirigeants d’E4S.

octobre 26, 2020 | Documents

25 ans de TVA! Et demain: Une TVA verte? De l’utilisation de la TVA comme outil climatique

L’article examine dans quelle mesure la TVA pourrait être utilisée comme incitatif fiscal dans le contexte de la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique.

octobre 7, 2020 | Documents

L’éclaircie à travers les nuages

Quels enseignements tirer des équipes de services professionnels qui ont réussi à bien fonctionner pendant la crise?

septembre 16, 2020 | Documents

La libre circulation des personnes peut-elle nuire à l’économie ?

Jennifer Hunt et Rafael Lalive répondent à des questions concernant l’impact de l’immigration sur l’économie,
dans le cadres des votations suisses sur la libre circulation des personnes, le 27 septembre 2020.

juillet 31, 2020 | Documents

Monitoring de la consommation en Suisse

Le projet “Monitoring de la consommation en Suisse” a utilisé les données de paiement pour examiner le comportement des consommateurs après la réouverture des magasins après le confinement, et comment celui-ci est influencé par la crise du Covid-19

juillet 21, 2020 | Documents

Le Covid-19 ouvrira-t-il la voie à une plus grande responsabilité des entreprises ?

Le Covid-19 changera-t-il l’opinion et les exigences des gens concernant la responsabilité des entreprises ? Nous analysons les perceptions sociales concernant l’initiative des “multinationales responsables” avant et pendant le verrouillage

juin 24, 2020 | Documents

Comment faire fonctionner le traçage de proximité numérique : Le point de vue de l’économie

Le traçage numérique de proximité (“Digital Personal Tracing”, DPT) est très prometteur en tant que complément du traçage de proximité traditionnel, principalement parce qu’il permet d’alerter des contacts dans des foules anonymes en plus des contacts connus. Toutefois, même la meilleure solution technologique, lorsqu’elle dépend d’une adoption généralisée, doit composer avec le facteur humain

juin 9, 2020 | Documents

Rapide et local : comment les politiques de confinement ont-elles affecté la propagation et la gravité du Covid-19 ?

Comment les réponses des gouvernements du monde entier à cette crise Covid-19 ont-elles eu un impact sur le développement de la pandémie mondiale ?

juin 8, 2020 | Documents

Comment la reconversion peut adoucir le choc économique du Covid-19

Toutes les industries n’ont pas souffert de la crise du Covid-19 : le secteur de la santé, par exemple, a vu sa demande augmenter, tout comme les écoles, dans certaines régions du monde, et le commerce en ligne

mai 25, 2020 | Documents

Comment soutenir financièrement les PME suisses ?

Nous proposons une manière attrayante de soutenir les PME qui ne repose pas sur le recours à l’endettement

mai 19, 2020 | Documents

Recherche d’emploi durant le confinement dû au COVID-19

Pendant la crise du Corona virus, les demandeurs d’emploi font beaucoup moins d’efforts pour trouver un nouvel emploi. Outre le manque d’offres d’emploi adaptées, la crainte d’être infecté par les demandeurs d’emploi joue un rôle décisif, tout comme le besoin accru de garde d’enfants pour les mères

mai 18, 2020 | Documents

Quelle est la valeur de la flexibilité financière ? Les preuves de la crise COVID-19

Cette publication examine la valeur de la flexibilité financière pour les grandes entreprises cotées en bourse aux États-Unis pendant la phase initiale de la crise COVID-19

mai 5, 2020 | Documents

Une proposition “gagnant-gagnant” pour améliorer le soutien financier aux PME

La crise du Covid a créé de nouveaux besoins de liquidités pour les entreprises en raison d’un ralentissement partiel ou d’un arrêt total de leurs activités. La Confédération a apporté une solution à ce problème en accordant des prêts relais

mai 3, 2020 | Documents

La crise du Corona virus et les travailleurs indépendants

La crise du Corona a également des conséquences financières et psychologiques pour les travailleurs indépendants

avril 15, 2020 | Documents

Sortie du confinement

Lever le verrouillage, oui …. Mais comment ? Esquisse d’une stratégie combinant les facteurs sanitaires et économiques

mars 26, 2020 | Documents

Compensation salariale et prêts Corona

Compensation salariale généreuse et prêts Corona : Pourquoi et comment l’État suisse devrait supporter la majeure partie du coût économique du confinement dû au Corona virus

mars 12, 2020 | Documents

Note d’information : taxe sur les billets d’avion

Introduction d’une taxe sur les billets d’avion en Suisse: Estimation des effets sur la demande

décembre 17, 2019 | Documents

Dossier de presse pour le lancement d’E4S

L’UNIL, l’IMD et l’EPFL s’associent pour former des cadres à la durabilité à l’ère du numérique

Publications

September 16, 2021 | Documents

The future of globalization: Building resilient and sustainable supply chains

New report by the Enterprise for Society Center analyzes the resilience and sustainability challenge of globalization.

August 17, 2021 | Documents

Greening the Swiss National Bank’s portfolio

The integration of environmental preferences and the practice of sustainable and responsible investing are widely discussed topics among investment professionals, academics, and policy makers. Survey results confirm that more and more institutional investors commit to the integration of principles of responsible investment in their investment process. Central banks worldwide actively take part in the policy […]

June 28, 2021 | Documents

Bending the Line: Moving Towards a Circular Economy

The world is today operating in a linear economy that extracts natural resources, produces energy or goods which are disposed in the form of pollution or waste. This “take, make, waste” system has generated prosperity and wealth in many parts of the world, but has also polluted the planet and the atmosphere. The consequences are […]

June 3, 2021 | Documents

Introducing an Air Ticket Tax in Switzerland: Estimated Effects on Demand

Air travel is now recognized as the most important driver of anthropogenic climate change of all Swiss economic sectors, ahead of ground transport. Furthermore, It is widely expected that Swiss air travel will return to pre-COVID levels and continue its rise thereafter. We estimate that the planned air ticket tax in the revised CO2 Act would reduce future Swiss air travel demand in the future, by incentivising substitution behaviour away from air travel.

March 16, 2021 | Documents

Automation Technologies and the Future of Work:
Policies for Inclusive Growth

There is a growing concern in public discussions that automation could soon make human labor obsolete. This report aims to delineate the state of knowledge on the impact of machines on the future of work and to offer guidance on how to prepare societies for the arrival of intelligent machines.

March 16, 2021 | Documents

Saving the world from your couch:
The heterogeneous medium-run benefits of COVID-19 lockdowns on air pollution

E4S researchers and co-authors estimate the medium-run impact of a battery of COVID- 19 related lockdown measures on air quality across 162 countries. They find that domestic and international lockdown measures overall led to a substantial persistent decline in air pollution.

March 11, 2021 | Documents

Seeing is Believing:
Toward Interpretable Data Visualization

When we see something we can easily detect patterns, we can spot anomalies, we can verify similarities. That’s why when dealing with data it is particularly important to reach the visualization part as early as possible. It can significantly speed up the identification of data problems but also help to better communicate and illustrate the research findings.

March 2, 2021 | Documents

Coronavirus crisis is exacerbating inequality in Switzerland

A recent study published by the KOF (Swiss Economic Institute), and co-financed by E4S and the Federal Office of Public Health shows that inequalities have increased with the Covid-19 health crisis. The economic impact of the COVID-​19 pandemic is being felt across all social strata. However, low-​income households are suffering particularly as a result of […]

January 28, 2021 | Documents

Distant learning increases student inequality

A study just published in the Journal of the European Economic Association analyses the impact of online live streaming of lectures in a public Swiss university before the COVID-19 pandemic hit. The results show that students prefer to be in the classroom when this is possible and that following lectures online help students that usually […]

December 21, 2020 | Documents

The elea Way – A learning journey towards sustainable impact

IMD’s Professor and E4S member Vanina Farber and Dr. Peter Wuffli, founder of the elea foundation, offer practical advice in their new book on how inclusive capitalism can address absolute poverty. Impact investing has become mainstream. The desire to link investments to social goals is no longer a buzzword for do-gooders, but a daily reality […]

December 12, 2020 | Documents

Green Domestic Product: Netting Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Gross Domestic Product

The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is rightly criticized for not being an accurate measure of economic value added since it does not account for the environmental damages caused by the underlying economic activity.

December 9, 2020 | Documents

Find out more about consumption in Switzerland: Monitoring Consumption in Switzerland

In two short explanatory videos, Prof. Rafael Lalive presents the tool “Monitoring Consumption in Switzerland”

November 26, 2020 | Documents

Second wave: Swiss self-employed dealing with the Covid-19 confinement

How has the business situation and the financial and mental health of the self-employed changed since April? A survey conducted by the KOF Institute and the University of Lausanne among self-employed people and business owners in Switzerland analyses the effects of the 2nd wave of Covid-19. This report follows a first study conducted in spring […]

November 17, 2020 | Documents

We must shift from a broken economic system to a more inclusive and ecologically sustainable world, say E4S leaders

“The capital in capitalism must not be restricted to physical capital – it must include all that is valued in society”

October 26, 2020 | Documents

25 years of VAT! And tomorrow: A Green VAT? The use of VAT as a climate tool

This article examines the extent to which VAT could be used as a tax incentive in the context of the fight against global warming.

October 7, 2020 | Documents

The surprise silver lining

What we can learn from professional service teams that managed to perform well during the crisis.

September 16, 2020 | Documents

Can the free movement of persons hurt the economy?

Jennifer Hunt and Rafael Lalive reply to questions concerning the impact of immigration on the economy, in the framework of the Swiss vote on the free movement of persons on Sept 27th, 2020.

July 31, 2020 | Documents

Monitoring consumption in Switzerland

The project “Monitoring Consumption Switzerland” has used payment data to examine consumer behaviour after the reopening of the shops after the lockdown, and how this is impacted by the Covid-19 crisis.

July 21, 2020 | Documents

Will Covid-19 pave the way for more business responsibility?

Will Covid-19 change peoples’ opinions and demands concerning business responsibility? We analyse social perceptions about the Responsible Business Initiative (“multinationales responsables”) initiative before and during the lockdown.

June 24, 2020 | Documents

How To Make Digital Proximity Tracing Work: The View from Economics

Digital proximity tracing (DPT) holds great promise as a complement to traditional proximity tracing, mainly because it allows contacts in anonymous crowds to be alerted in addition to known contacts. However, even the best technological solution, when it depends on widespread adoption, needs to contend with the human factor.

June 9, 2020 | Documents

Fast and local: how did lockdown policies affect the spread and severity of Covid-19?

How have the responses of governments around the world to this Covid-19 crisis impacted the development of the global pandemic?

June 8, 2020 | Documents

How Reskilling Can Soften the Economic Blow of Covid-19

Not all industries suffered of the Covid-19 crisis: the healthcare sector, for instance, saw demand grow, as did schools, in some parts of the world, and online retail.

May 25, 2020 | Documents

How to financially support Swiss SMEs?

We propose an attractive way of supporting PME’s that does not rely on recourse to debt

May 19, 2020 | Documents

Job search during the COVID-19 lockdown

Job-seekers during the Corona crisis are making significantly less effort to find a new job. In addition to the lack of suitable job offers, fear of infection by jobseekers plays a decisive role, as does the increased need for childcare for mothers.

May 18, 2020 | Documents

How valuable is financial flexibility? Evidence from the COVID-19 crisis

The reported publication examines the value of financial flexibility for large, publicly listed companies in the US during the initial phase of the COVID-19 crisis.

May 5, 2020 | Documents

A “win-win” proposal to improve financial support for SME’s

The Covid crisis has created new liquidity needs for companies due to a partial slowdown or a total shutdown of their activities. The Confederation has provided a solution to this problem by granting bridging loans.

May 3, 2020 | Documents

Corona crisis and the self-employed

The Corona crisis also has financial and psychological consequences for the self-employed.

April 15, 2020 | Documents

Lockdown release

Lifting the lockdown, yes …. But how? Outline of a strategy combining health and economic factors

March 26, 2020 | Documents

Wage Compensation & Corona Loans

Generous wage compensation & corona loans: Why and how the Swiss state should bear most of the economic cost of the corona lockdown

March 12, 2020 | Documents

Policy brief: air ticket tax

Introducing an Airline Ticket Tax in Switzerland: Estimated Effects on Demand

December 17, 2019 | Documents

Press kit for the launch of E4S

UNIL, IMD and EPFL team up to train managers on sustainability in the digital age